Filipino candidates among winners in Hawaii primary election results

by Kathleen Lee, ABS-CBN News

*Correction: This piece was originally posted with an inaccurate headline that read “No Filipino candidate winners in Hawaii primary election results”. We have corrected the headline to align with the content of the report below that states that Filipinos were indeed among the winners in the recent primary election. We apologize for this error and are addressing the matter. The BA news team strives for accuracy in every report. In the previous headline we failed. We thank our viewer who pointed out the error to us. (By Troy Espera, Executive Producer) 

Filipinos joined other Democratic party members in casting their votes for the primary election last Saturday.

Governor David Ige won the Democratic nomination against Congresswoman Colleen Hanabusa, with over 124,000 votes.

In the race for the state’s lieutenant governor position, Filipino candidate Will Espero came in last — with Dr. Josh Green, who left his Senate position, beating Espero and other veteran politicians.

Green got the support of a number of Fil-Am voters.

The Ige and Green Democratic ticket faces off against Republicans Andria Tupola and Marissa Kerns in the November general election. At that time, Filipino-Americans in Hawaii can decide who gets to be their next governor and lieutenant governor.

Other Filipino-American candidates in the Aloha also failed in their political bids.

Long-time Fil-Am politician Donna Mercado Kim did not win the first congressional district seat.

Pinoy political newcomers Tyler Dos Santos-Tam, who ran for Honolulu City Council; and Tricia Lachica, who ran for state representative of House District 36 — but Grace Manipol who ran for state house in the Big Island won her seat.

No Comment

Leave a Reply