FilAm NBA coach Erik Spoelstra’s Miami Heat wins ESPY team of the year

By Steve Angeles, ABS-CBN North America Bureau

July 18, 2013

LOS ANGELES – It was a big night for the Pinoy led National Basketball Association Champions Miami Heat at the ESPN ESPY awards.

The Miami Heat, coached by FilAm Erik Spoelstra won the Best Team award, and their Game 6 overtime victory against the San Antonio Spurs in this past NBA finals won the award for best game.

Miami beat several teams for the honor including a pair of Filipino-American athletes: Tim Lincecum and the San Francisco Giants and the U.S. Women’s Gymnastics Team, which featured Kyla Ross.

While Coach Spoelstra’s star player Lebron James was named Athlete of the Year, Spoelstra lost the honor of Best Coach to college basketball’s Rick Pitino.

For more information, you may contact Steve Angeles at

No Comment

Leave a Reply