California imposes new laws on drivers, job applications, and minimum wage
How many times have you entered the crosswalk despite having time left over to cross? Each time you did, that was a fine of up to $250.
But that was last year.
Even though the California Highway Patrol lobbied to keep the rarely enforce law intact — opponents were able to prove that it unfairly punished pedestrians.
And whether it be trips to and from Disneyland, the casinos, or visiting relatives — commercial buses like Greyhound and Megabus — will require both the driver and passengers to wear seat belts.
A $20 fine will be issued for the first offense, and $50 for any following busts. Tourist and public transit buses are not included in the law.
For those who have tinted windows — you can avoid a ticket, thanks to AB 13-03. You just need a signed note from a dermatologist saying its used to block out ultraviolet rays.
Despite much opposition, Governor Jerry Brown brought down the criminal offense of knowingly exposing a sexual partner to HIV without first disclosing it from a felony to a misdemeanor.
Those convicted of a hate crime will not be able to possess a gun for 10 years, thanks to the passage of the Disarm Hate Act.
As employment goes, job applications will no longer have a check-box indicating the applicant has a criminal record.
Lawmakers hope this change will protect applicants from discrimination in the hiring process.
Employers can still perform routine background checks.
AB 168 prevents employers from asking about an applicant’s salary history or prior benefits, and employers must provide pay scale information upon request.
According to the new Parent Leave Act, businesses with 20 or more employees are obligated to provide employees with us to 12 weeks of leave — which must be taken with a year of the child’s birth, adoption, or foster care placement.
And the minimum wage rises again. Business with 26 or more employees will increase the minimum wage to $11 per hour.
While businesses with fewer than 26 employees will see their minimum wage rise to $10 and 50 cents per hour. The minimum wage will hit $15 per hour in 2022.